DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 - Release 0.3 Tenacious!
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

OSD600 - Release 0.3 Tenacious!

Once again in OSD600 I needed to find an issue to work on. For those of you who didn't read my previous blog, I am taking an "Open Source" course at Seneca. In this course we were assigned Release 0.03 where we have to contribute to telescope. Telescope is an open source web server and client application that displays a timeline of Seneca Student's open source blogs. In my first issue for this release I focused on CSS. I decided I needed more practice and sought out to find another CSS related issue.

In this issue I needed to move the location of the search button. I was thinking... this shouldn't be too hard right? I went to work diligently. I thought if I just get this done soon, then maybe I'll finally have no homework on the weekend.

My beginning results were great! Or so I thought. The button stayed lined up to the right of the textbox nicely. After I was satisfied I pushed to GitHub and created my PR.

Alt Text

I learned quickly that my button relocation had a fault. On the mobile device view, my button was going off screen. EEESH!

Alt Text

I really needed to figure this out. I put out the word so see if anyone had an idea what I could do. A classmate had a brilliant idea to use InputAdornments. I went to work on this but found out quickly that I was having issues and getting an error. I tried for two days, not doing much else I might add. Even after getting a walk through with the professor, neither of us could figure out the problem. After 4 days total on this issue, I was becoming quite discouraged. It was time to take a step back for an evening.

I arose at 6:30AM the next morning and started to take a look. Then it hit me. For some reason my master was not updating the telescope's master despite having already set up a remote. After some efforts to fix this problem, I need to be able to get the latest update from telescope for future PR's. After I set everything up, I added the InputAdornment and created my PR. Stress can create brain fog. In my haste to finish this PR I had not realized that there was a new upgrade to the input search in the project, so my inputAdornment needed to be added in two files. I started to get upset with myself at this point. If I had just noticed from the beginning that my telescope master wasn't the latest version, I could have resolved this and been done already, but noooo not me. I like to do things the hard way right? I really don't.

So I proceeded to put the adornment button into AuthSearchInput and PostSearchInput files. Wait, this isn't what I thought this would do.

Alt Text

This is horrible. At least the search works right but not the results I was hoping for. I tried for hours to fix this. I worked on this for 4 days straight and this is as far as I got. At a loss of what to do, I still kept working through the weekend in hopes of figuring it out. I felt utterly defeated.

Tenacious is the word that I've been told describes me. Quitting is a last resort. Of course I know that sometimes it is the only option. In this case, I just need to take a break and get some fresh eyes on this issue. I need to remind myself that I don't have to figure everything out by myself. Until I can fix this issue, I have a draft PR. Encouraging words from my professor make me feel less like a failure and remember that all new things take time to learn. I am a student after all.

Top comments (0)