DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 - Release0.3 Telescope CSS
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

OSD600 - Release0.3 Telescope CSS

In Open Source Development course we were assigned Release 0.3 where we get to contribute to Seneca-CDOT/telescope. Telescope is an open source web server and client application for displaying a timeline of Seneca's Student blogs about open source. This project seemed so large. I was as nervous as the first time I had to sing a solo on stage knowing the local Toronto news station would be filming it! I needed to find my first issue. So I crossed my fingers and hoped to find something.

The task proved to me to be more difficult then I anticipated. A huge reminder of how green I am! After reading through what felt like 50 issues, I requested some guidance and I was assigned my first Issue-1344 on telescope. I took some time to acquaint myself with telescope. I know the best way to become more comfortable is to do things multiple times. So I kept going back to it and running it. I started playing with the CSS part. I had almost no experience in CSS, so I also took quite a bit of time reading up on W3 Schools and styled-jsx. Thankfully I love reading!

Both anxious and excited, I dove in. Changing some numbers, just to what happens. I needed to figure out where to add a margin and found myself getting a little flustered. Eventually I figured out where to add the code and started my PR.

Alt Text

Not sure if it would be accepted, I nervously waited. I had to be reminded about how to contribute properly giving details of what I did and what Issue I fixed. Of course I learned that before but I was so focused on the project's PR, I'd forgotten. Once everything was up to standard my PR was merged. Whew! Next!

Thankful for the experience but wow, what an eye opener of how I need to do more reading. I want to be better at CSS. I know from personal experience that the only way to get better at something is to get more practice!

Top comments (0)