DEV Community

Cover image for What was I thinking?!?
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

What was I thinking?!?

Release 0.1 required a command-line tool to check for broken Urls. Originally I chose C++ as my language, and this turned out to be the biggest thorn in my side.

Not sure why I always chose the challenging paths but hey it is in my nature! My primary release asks the user to input the url and then lets the user know if the url is good, bad or unknown. The colour application worked at first but then when I made changes to improve the code, the colour no longer worked. Figuring out the simplest way to implement the colour letters was not as easy as instructed on websites. As much as I desire to become more acquainted with C++, I was truly not happy with the slow progression and outcome of this version.

I made the decision to do a second version by changing the language. With some help from our classmate Joey, he refreshed my memory in how to start a new project on VScode. In the winter I had taken an ASP.net course through Seneca and loved it so much that I had forgotten much of how to create in VScode. So here it is!

Features include
• Ability to run the tool with v or version argument to get the
version of the tool you are running.
• Checks the file passed through the arguments to check the Urls
listed
• The results of the Urls show the “green” ones as being good and
“red” ones as being broken
• Finds which links are broken, working, or unknow in a file
• Can process any file type (txt, html, ext...)
• Alerts user if they entered the wrong number of arguments

Top comments (0)