DEV Community

Peter Strøiman
Peter Strøiman

Posted on • Updated on

1. Series introduction

In this series I will explain principles of vim and neovim, and it is complementary to another series where I rebuild my configuration from scratch.

When I reach a new vim concept, in my configuration that I think could benefit need explaining in depth, I will add an article to this series about that concept.

Note on terminology: whenever I write "vim", the information is valid for both vim and neovim. When a topic is specific to neovim, I will write "neovim".

This series is not a replacement for the tutor

This is not meant to teach you editing in vim/neovim, as this is about explaining concepts that become relevant when configuring and customising neovim to your liking.

If you are new to vim and neovim, and want to lear, both have a tutorial that teaches basic editing, navigation, motions, (see :help motion).

Vim's tutorial can be launched directly from the command line (this is how I originally learned vim)

> vimtutor
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Neovim's tutorial can be launched from neovim itself, launch neovim, and type :Tutor and press enter. It's basically the same with minor changes, and some fancy additions.

Top comments (0)