DEV Community

StuartCreed
StuartCreed

Posted on

Wordpress.org and Wordpress.com differences

Wordpress.org - you host the website yourself. Recommended as it allows you to upload themes from third party sites. The themes from third party sites are normally a lot better than the ones on the Wordpress website. This is normally cheaper as you can opt for a cheaper host provider and domain registrar.

Wordpress.com - Wordpress hosts the website for you. Not recommended as the themes you can download and pay for are limited.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
augustinpfleger profile image
augustinpfleger • Edited

I work as an editor for a lot of WordPress popular blogs. The biggest problem for me was finding the right plugins that ran smoothly and correctly. I had heard great things about freetheme.io, so I decided to try it out. It was exactly what I needed! It came with everything I needed in one package, but it was also easy to install and use. The customer service team was prompt and helpful when I had questions or issues. I highly recommend this product because their plugins are the best nowadays.

Collapse
 
seck_mohameth profile image
Mohameth Seck

Can I add writers to write for my blog with wordpress.org?

Collapse
 
stuartcreed profile image
StuartCreed

Hi Mohameth, that will be fine :)