DEV Community

Cover image for Hacked The Hacktoberfest
Subham Ghosh
Subham Ghosh

Posted on

Hacked The Hacktoberfest

It's October, so as an Open Source Enthusiast I started contributing to Hacktoberfest. It was my first time contributing to Open source and the I was scared of doing something wrong. Eventually, I started making the process, I discovered new repositories based on my tech stack and started fixing beginner-friendly or good-first-issues. So finally I am done with my Hacktoberfest target but I did not stop contributing and that pushed me to a total of 8 total contributions. Before starting I had so many doubts like Open Source is only for Pro Developers and you have to know how to code to contribute but after this I know some things that might help you in your first open-source contributions.

  1. Use Filters in GitHub to find the repository you want to contribute to and what matches your tech stack and preferences.
  2. Search using labels like good-first-issue or easy if it’s your first time
  3. Comment on the issue you want to work on and ask the maintainer to explain it to you, don’t be afraid to ask questions because most of the maintainers are super helpful and they will help you throughout the process of your contribution.
  4. Remember the maintainer knows you are a beginner, they don’t expect you to know everything so ask for help if you don’t what to do next
  5. Learn Git properly and learn how to read large codebases.
  6. Finally, enjoy the process and don’t stop after an event, do it throughout the year. All the best and enjoy!!

P.S: Here is my Hacktoberfest DEV Community BADGE:

Image description

Image description
Image description
Image description

Top comments (0)