DEV Community

Sushil
Sushil

Posted on

Seeking Help: Adding Real-Time Notifications to My Social Media App! 📱

Hey dev community! 👋

I'm currently working on enhancing my social media app, and I'm looking to implement real-time notifications to keep users updated on activities like friend requests, new posts, and comments.

Here's what I've built so far:

  • Added server actions for following and declining friend requests
  • Functionality to fetch friends and their posts
  • Add post functionality with Zod validation and an emoji picker using Emoji-Mart
  • Add story functionality and fixed onclick errors in the StoryItem component

Now, I'm aiming to implement real-time notifications, but I'm not entirely sure about the best approach to take. Here are some details about my tech stack:

  • Next.js for the frontend
  • Prisma for database management
  • Clerk for authentication

I'd love to hear your suggestions or experiences on:

What libraries or tools would you recommend for real-time notifications?
How can I integrate these with my existing tech stack?
Any best practices or tips for managing notifications efficiently?
Thank you in advance for your help! 🙌

Top comments (0)