DEV Community

Lisa Q
Lisa Q

Posted on

Nevertheless, Lisa Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I was forced to! At my school, we didn't just learn how to use computers, but how to program them. I think this may have been a fortunate misunderstanding on the part of the school administration ("we must teach the kids computers!"), but it was great. By the time I built my first game (at eleven years old!) I was hooked. You can type commands and the computer will do what you told it to, how cool is that?

I recently overcame...

Deployment. If you'd have asked me about deployment a few months ago, that was "someone else's job" and I had only a vague idea of how they were putting my application online. I'm still learning but now I can do it myself!

I'm an expert at...

Nothing. Seriously. I'm not a "rockstar programmer", I don't have all the answers, and I don't know anything inside and out completely. And that's totally ok. You don't have to be an expert to code.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

Remember that you're talking to someone who was told that they couldn't do this, that they're not good enough, that this isn't for them. Be compassionate about that, and be supportive, and encourage them when they doubt themselves.

Top comments (0)