DEV Community

syentix
syentix

Posted on

Showcase: Pog-or-not?

Startpage

Hey devs!

Today I just wanted to show off a small project I made in a few days, just to get around basic html and javascript.

It was also a great opportunity to try out tmi.js.

What is pog-or-not?

I created this site as a joke and what it does is pretty simple. It just counts the times an emote is posted into a twitch streamers chat.
Currently the site has support for POG, LUL and 5head (and other variations, more here).
It also shows the percentage of all counted emotes, to get a tiny understanding of how the stream is doing.

How does it work

I used tmi.js to connect to a given streamers chat and listen to the messages sent. Whenever it picks up an emote registered in my javascript it will +1 to the counter. Simple right?

tmi.js is great

The library is awesome for making little tiny applications that watch over a given chat, but it's also great for creating some kind of community app for your stream. I've seen Codinggarden use it for an active viewers counter :)

Support

It's always great to get feedback on a project, even if it's this small. I would really appreciate you checking the site out and checking out the repo.
If you find an issue with the site, feel free to add it to the github and I'll look over it :)

Thanks for reading and have a good day!

Top comments (0)