DEV Community

Sze Ying 🌻
Sze Ying 🌻

Posted on • Updated on

Hello World

I've loved writing since I was a kid who was bullied in primary school. Every time I felt upset, I would write down everything I was feeling on a piece of paper, then tear it up and flush the pieces down a toilet bowl. It made me feel ever so slightly liberated from my then perceived problems.

The habit of jotting down my thoughts continued as I grew older. The medium with which I used to do so evolved from paper and pen to blogs, phone applications and 280-character tweets. Yet, I always stuck to writing about my personal life. The one thing I never did was to write about tech.

Why? I guess I don't think I have much to offer. There are so many people out there who are more expert at what I am doing, and I don't feel qualified to be writing about things that I don't 100% know about.

Today, I thought about the reason why I've kept up with writing about my personal life after all these years. I realised that I was never trying to educate anyone about anything. I never pretended to know more than anyone about anything. If I wrote something today, it would merely be to capture a snapshot of who I am today, so that I in the future can have something concrete to look back on, to reflect on my growth over time.

So I am letting that be my motivation to start writing about my work in the tech scene. I am not here to teach anyone anything, but I will share what I am learning today.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome to the community! This sounds like a wonderful attitude and mindset as you continue writing.

Collapse
 
szenius profile image
Sze Ying 🌻

Thank you Peter! Appreciate it :)