DEV Community

Cover image for Do you pay for the photos you use as cover?
Jakob Christensen
Jakob Christensen

Posted on

Do you pay for the photos you use as cover?

I have noticed that lots of you here on dev.to use cover photos on your articles. Do you own or pay for those photos and do you credit the creator? (you should).

What is dev.to's policy on copyrights?

P.S. I only use my own photographs for my articles.

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

I usually use photos from free stock image sites like unsplash or my own photos.

Collapse
 
xowap profile image
Rémy 🤖

I almost exclusively use my own photos. If not, I look for CC photos on Flickr and mention the artist at the end of the article (like there).

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I use giphy.com, unsplash and always give the referral link to the artist or I have some of my own which are usually screenshots or animated GIFs I made. Not sure how you credit an animated gif from giphy.com.

Collapse
 
t4rzsan profile image
Jakob Christensen

From the giphy terms of service:

You own all content you contribute to the Services, but you’re ok with Giphy using it in connection with its Services. Public Information is public, so don’t include any private or sensitive information in any public part of the Services.

I seriously doubt that giphy content is owned by whoever uploads it to giphy 🙄.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

Maybe in cases of fair use. Like, my favorite giphy user is Swear Trek

Collapse
 
developarvin profile image
Arthur Vincent Simon

I use Unsplash photos with credits in the article.

Collapse
 
lysofdev profile image
Esteban Hernández

no

Collapse
 
papaponmx profile image
Jaime Rios

Nope, I look for royalty free photos or those that can be used as for non commercial purposes with proper attribution."

pexels.com/ is a great source.

Collapse
 
victoria profile image
Victoria Drake

I doodle most of mine. :)

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

I use Pexels, Pixabay, and Unsplash for free to use stock art.

Collapse
 
thorstenhirsch profile image
Thorsten Hirsch

I always check the license. Sometimes they're completely free, sometimes they're under CC-BY.

What is dev.to's policy on copyrights?

That's probably US law. No need for additional policies.

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes

This should probably be tagged #meta

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

I use unsplash for cover photos here (though I rarely add one) or backgrounds for Trello boards.

Collapse
 
austinstanding profile image
Austin Standing

I either use Pexels or my own.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Unsplash, my own Photos, or my own photos on Unsplash.

Collapse
 
t4rzsan profile image
Jakob Christensen

Nice work 👍

I post on 500px:
500px.com/t4rzsan