DEV Community

Cover image for How I build my startup supa-quick
Taishi
Taishi

Posted on

How I build my startup supa-quick

I've been working on Supabox.

Supabox

Supabox is a Gmail add-on for Founders to stay on top of the inbox.

Supabox uses AI to automatically tag emails to help you spot the most important ones at a glance.

In this article, I'd like to share how I built Supabox, and how I took advantage of my fav tool - Supabase⚡️

Many Supabox functions rely on Supabase

Authentication

Login functionality with a Google account is implemented using Supabase.

The difference from the apps I usually make is that Supabox requires the use of the Gmail API to access the user's inbox, so I give it an additional scope and ask the user to log in.

Data encryption

Often there will be times when you want to encrypt data in your database.

With Supabase, you can implement the encryption function in about 5 seconds.

Dang!

The Column Encryption feature is just too good to be true.

Supabase uses pgsodium inside it and it uses XChaCha20-SIV algorithm.

You want to have a cron job? No problem.

I needed to call the API every 30 minutes, so I decided to use pg_cron.

pg_cron is a Postgres extension and you can use Postgres as a CRON server :)

Supabase has a GUI to configure these easily!

API responsible for time-consuming processing

The process with AI takes time, so I decided to use Render to host an API built with Node.js and use bull to use AI in the background job.

It works very well so far, without any problem.

I'm using Betterstack Log for logging and it's supa easy to set it up with Render.

Highly recommended.

Something I'd like to try in the future

Supabase x Resend integration

I've been using Resend for a couple of months, and I found this video the other day.

Send Emails in Edge Functions

This integration will likely make it easier to send emails to users using Resend.

By the way, I am regarding sending emails this time,

I strongly recommend both.

pg_vector

pg_vector is another Postgres extension to store vector data in the Postgres.

Storing OpenAI embeddings in Postgres with pgvector

I'm using it for Autothread AI and it's working very well!

I'm sure I'll need it for Supabox in the future and excited to use it again!

Conclusion

I hope you understand how easy it is to create apps with Supabase (it's supa easy :D)

I think you will be able to complete your MVP very quickly, especially since there is a lot of integration with popular third-party tools (Resend, Langchain, etc).

LangChain & Supabase Tutorial: How to Build a ChatGPT Chatbot For Your Website

Also, take a look at Supabox.

I'm looking g forward to seeing how you like it :)

Let me know your thoughts on the article and Supabox!
@taishik_

Top comments (0)