DEV Community

TASHA PENWELL
TASHA PENWELL

Posted on

Linkedin Skills Aassessments to Verify Skills for Professionals and Students

In late 2019, LinkedIn launch Skills Assessments to help users showcase their skills.

I admit that even though this isn't a new feature from LinkedIn, this is new to me. I had some free time this weekend and decided to see what exactly these assessments were. I'm very happy to say that I'm a fan. If you work in tech, in education, or are a student taking an assessment or anything resembling a quiz is pretty low on your things to do on the weekend. Your normal duties need enough studies and assessments and the idea of doing another one doesn't appeal. While all that is true (at least for me anyway😉), I have to say I am a fan of these Skills Assessments. Here's why...

  1. They are short. They have 15 questions. Long enough to confirm you have skills in the subject matter and not so long that test fatigue sets in.
  2. They are multiple-choice. No need to write long paragraphs of explanations to convey you know the subject. There's a question and four possible solutions. Select one.
  3. They are better than a stranger verifying your skillset when they have no idea that you do have that skill. You have earned that verification.

🧐🧐Let me explain a little more on number three above. Before, skills were verified by your connections verifying you have a skill you stated. On the surface, this was a fine way to receive recommendations. Underneath the surface, it was a little murky. I had connections verifying I had a skillset when I had never worked with them and they had no idea of whether I did or did not have a skill. In fact, I had one connection message me stating that he verified some of my skills based on my word stating I had them, and asked if I would do the same for him. I declined his request. Having these types of "verifications" undermines the process and the value and one reason I stopped listing or updating mine. They had lost their value. These Skills Assessments help change that. You know the subject or you don't. According to LinkedIn, if you do fail one they will outline how you did, and unlock relevant LinkedIn Learning courses for free for a limited time to help improve your skills.


All in all, this has helped reinforced the value of LinkedIn as an educator and a new type of assignment for my students this Fall. I believe that networking and gaining comfort meeting with recruiters and learning more about building connections are vital for the growth of students to become professionals in their careers and these Skills Assessments are a great way to support that. If you have any questions or would like to learn more about me feel free to find me on LinkedIn at
https://www.linkedin.com/in/tashapenwell/

Top comments (0)