DEV Community

Cover image for What's the most fun trip you ever went on? 😎
Nilohit Singh Kanwar for XenoX

Posted on

What's the most fun trip you ever went on? 😎

I was scrolling around my phone's gallery today, when I came across this happy picture from last year:

Alt Text

I'd gone for paragliding in the beautiful hilly village of Bir, in Northern India. Here's what the view looked like:

Bir Biling

Now that we're all staying at home and travelling isn't an option anymore, let's share pictures of fun trips we went on! βœˆπŸš²πŸš—πŸš‰

Let the virtual travel begin.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
fossheim profile image
Sarah • Edited

Can't decide, so gonna list my three favorites!

  • Solo trip to Svalbard/Spitsbergen in the summer of 2017. Was there for a bit over a week, did several hiking trips, and a few boat trips. Spotted several polar bears in the wild, saw baby birds learning to fly and jumping off a mountain, and just generally beautiful and surreal views everywhere. So much of it is untouched nature - no paths, no cabins, no houses, no cars, no planes, no people. Everything was just quiet except for the sound of birds, foxes, and other wild animals.

  • My trip to Kerala (India) in the winter of 2018. My friend invited us to her wedding there. My fiancΓ©e and I went two weeks early and spent the first part of our trip traveling around and doing a 4-day hiking trip 🀩 We're quite used to hiking long distances in Norway, but completely underestimated how challenging it would be in 30-40 degrees celsius. Very much worth it though.

canoe between trees, sunset in the background

  • This year's hiking trip in Lofoten, northern Norway. Must be one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. Because of corona we couldn't travel outside of our country, so we rented a car and did a roadtrip from Oslo to Lofoten (24h drive if you'd drive non-stop, we used 5 days driving up along the coastline, with lots of stops to camp and hike along the way), then stayed there for around 10 days - driving and hiking around. There weren't that many people since we went before most Norwegians take their holidays, so most hikes (aside from 2 popular ones) we didn't see any other people. Great way to practice social distancing imo.

mountains surrounded by rivers and ocean with the midnight sun on the horizon

Person with hiking sticks overlooking a landscape on top of a mountain

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

I am so mind-blown right now. The second last photo is my favorite. Absolutely stunning! Looks to me like you have the soul of an adventurer. Cheers to that. 🍻

Glad you liked Kerala, btw! It is indeed beautiful. :D

Collapse
 
nilohit_kanwar profile image
Nilohit Singh Kanwar

Wow, you have lived quite the life!

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Oh man, there are some tough contenders... I'd say our Kheerganga trek was one of the more memorable trips I've been on.

Collapse
 
darksmile92 profile image
Robin Kretzschmar

That picture is simply awesome! :)

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Thanks Robin! That's Sarthak (left) and me (right) circa mid 2017 btw haha.

Collapse
 
rishadomar profile image
Rishad Omar

That does look lovely . I'm from South Africa and would love to visit. Please provide me with more details

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Hey Rishad, thanks! Yes, it's a beautiful trek but I think it might be shortened soon because they're building a dam in the valley. You might wanna visit sooner rather than later. ;)
Here you go!

Collapse
 
manasp profile image
Manas P

Happy, Funny Moments πŸ’™
Tour

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

That looks so fun!

Collapse
 
pavermakov profile image
Pavel Ermakov

Acid

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

IMHO,
Every trip is fun.
Every trip in it's own beautiful way - so to me, that's an impossible question to answer.

But I will happily share some photos from different trips over the last few years:

Cyclamen

albino female peacock

Eilat musical fountain
North (Achziv) beach

Collapse
 
lemaira profile image
Lemaira • Edited

The picture is amazing. I love traveling as well, and I go to a new destination on every occasion I have. I'm currently a student, and I don't make as much, and that's why I like to save as much money as possible for my further trips. I've recently discovered some great coupons and discount codes on traveling offers. Now, I can travel with just a couple of hundred dollars in my pocket. The best part is that I have everything here at hoopladoopla.com/category/travel. Last time, I saved almost 400$ in just five days. For me, that's insane!

Collapse
 
chepushilaq profile image
chepushilaQ

My best trip was to Germany. And it was wonderful not because everything was wonderful, but because we had too many stupid problems. Initially, we missed the train because I fell and hurt my knee. As we found out from the website with the train schedule dbreiseauskunft.com/de/ the next one will be in an hour. We were also late for it because we just didn't understand why the train that arrived was suitable for us, lol. It was so funny that we made two mistakes, that I probably remembered it for the rest of my life. Then, when we finally got to the city, we made a mistake with the hotel where we had a reservation. Fortunately, nothing else happened, but these situations were enough to make us laugh about this trip for a long time

Collapse
 
bellabern profile image
bellabern

Just recently, I took a train to Germany. It was a great trip that I will remember for a long time. How many of you have been to Germany? How do you like it ?