DEV Community

Cover image for Why I Transitioned into Technical Writing
OLAIDE
OLAIDE

Posted on • Updated on

Why I Transitioned into Technical Writing

Introduction

So what do you tell someone who adores writing?

Since I was a small child, I always liked writing. I even created my first storybook at that age. But how can I convince my audience that I never wanted to write in a technical style? I never saw myself pursuing a profession in technical writing. I have been building websites for more than two years.

Who says I was going to develop my skills as a tech writer? Nobody told me, I mean nobody! I woke up one morning and said to myself that I was going to learn it and I did, as it was just me and my thoughts at the time. I discovered how resourceful I can be when putting ideas into writing.

So I said to myself "You would do well in the writing space."

The Instant I Gave Myself In
I can imagine what is going through your mind. I know you would be wondering if I eventually gave in to the thought.

Image description

Yes, I gave in. I decided to fully embrace my ability and go into the field of technical writing. I recalled sending out a tweet to inform everyone on my timeline that I was about to launch a career in technical writing.

Image description

I started preparing and asking people I know that are into writing how I can get started. I was lucky enough to get resources online, made my research, took courses online, and asked questions on how to write articles, started publishing and I later joined a community Here, then I started contributing to open source.

Am I Doing Well In The Field?
Who wouldn't succeed in the field they have prepared to explore? It now appeared to be a fulfilment of a dream for me. I took everything seriously and wrote seven (7) technical articles. I improved my CV and started submitting gig and employment applications. Writing and coding both got attractive and today I'm flourishing in the field of technical writing.

I was passionate about guiding others through the process of becoming technical writers. I recalled tweeting about how many weeks I wanted to mentor people and I received responses from interested individuals.

Image description

Observe this! I ultimately gave 20 folks the opportunity.

Image description

Indeed! We conducted the mentoring class, and everyone I choose got involved, learned the essentials, were given tasks to do, and were all prepared for the technical writing part.

We had three weeks of Mentorship class, and I can confidently state that they are all performing well in the field as we speak.

Conclusion
And so I can assure you that if you can envision it, you have the strength to live it. Your ambitions, no matter how far-fetched they look, have the potential to become a reality.

Listen to your soul's calling and let it guide your path. Whether it's a profession or a life-changing endeavour, you have the power to make it a reality. Have faith in yourself, your ability and the power of your aspirations.

There will be challenges and doubts that try to influence you, the route may appear to be obscure, but don't cave in.

I am rooting for you!

Found this article helpful?
Feel free to find me around the web for questions and clarifications

Twitter

LinkedIn

Top comments (0)