DEV Community

Phung Thanh Quan
Phung Thanh Quan

Posted on

How do you learn English when you are not a native English speaker?

It took me about 3 years for learning English from zero, now I can reading and listening well, but I cannot speaking and writing.

I see that there are a lot of developers in the world who is struggling with learning English and mine either. Can you give me any advice on this if you are not a native English speaker?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
pahrurozidev profile image
Pahrurozi • Edited

Although I still learning english too, but I give for you any advice, that is

  • Practice
  • Practice
  • Practice

Usually, I learning english use some method, like this.

  • translate your language to english
  • read 1 article everyday
  • learn english theory, like? grammer, tenses
  • listening youtube video about motivation of life using subtitle or not

Hopefuly to help for you

Collapse
 
koriroro profile image
koriroro

You have to practice it as more as you can. There are a lot of applications and websites which can help you. You can find people on the Net who also learn English and practice with them. It is the most effective way

Collapse
 
cevin77 profile image
Cevin77 • Edited

Since I'm going to go abroad next year, I need to learn a foreign language. To do this, I decided to use this link, since many of my friends are already learning foreign languages on this site. There I was able to find a good tutor, thanks to whom my language learning is moving in big steps! I think that soon I will be able to speak this language!

Collapse
 
cashoefman profile image
Cas Hoefman

Practice