DEV Community

Cover image for Mindmap: Never forget anything again
Piyush Chhabra
Piyush Chhabra

Posted on

Mindmap: Never forget anything again

Did you know that you can impress or influence people just by remembering small details like their dog's name or their daughter's birthday ?

Well, I did not, Until I read this life changing book "How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie. This book says that regardless of your job profile, 85% of your financial success depends on your skills in Human engineering. I was surprised when I read this.

I started keeping a journal since I read this book. I maintained notes about people I meet, be it my friends, colleagues, or even family members. These notes contain details about people like their birthdays, their work anniversaries, their favorite sports team, and movies that they like. Being in a remote job, I meet my colleagues once every 4-5 months so I even started noting down things that we talked about and I refer to that when I am going to meet them next time.

Every sunday, I look at this journal and see what's coming up this week. Since then, I have never forgotten anyone's birthday. I wish work anniversaries to all my colleagues. I even remember the names of the pets of all my friends.

It was all working very well until I had too many people added to the journal. Eventually, it became hard to manage. I had 53 people in my journal to be specific, and I had to scroll through all of them every Sunday to see what's coming up in the coming week.
That's when It struck me. I decided to optimize the whole process and go digital. This was the beginning of Mindmap.

It took me ~3 weeks to build and productionize the first cut of Mindmap. Here, I can add people to my mindmap like I used to add in my journal. I can add facts about these people. These facts can be a General fact which is just a piece of information that can be referred to later, Or It can be a Timed fact which can be used to save events like birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I also added a notification section that shows the upcoming events in next week as well as next month.

Image description

I have recently added weekly email notifications as well. Now, I get an email every sunday, describing all the events coming up in next week.

I am still evaluating more features to add onto this and I am open to feedback as well. Please do give it a try and let me know if you want me to improve something in this.

Checkout Mindmap here: https://themindmap.app/

Cheers!!!

Top comments (0)