DEV Community

Jeff Meyerson
Jeff Meyerson

Posted on

Don't Trust Facebook

React is malware.

Across every interface, it gives Facebook direct access to everything you see and do.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ncpa0cpl profile image
ncpa0cpl

React is malware.

Please provide samples of any malicious code that can be found in the React source code.

Unless you can show anything like that it's impossible to take a post like this seriously.

Collapse
 
danwood profile image
Dan Wood

And there's 5G in vaccines...

Collapse
 
jzombie profile image
jzombie • Edited

Disclaimer: I didn't watch the video, however:

I used to hold this sentiment (of "Facebook's direct access to everything [React-related]") before I started using React, but is it really true?

I'd be interested in seeing either code within React or some other documentation that shows this to be a matter of fact, as React can run completely offline w/o any network connection at all.

Collapse
 
yutamago profile image
Yutamago • Edited

TLDW: Facebook good, React bad, because React is not truly open source.

I'm not saying that you're wrong (too lazy to check the facts right now). But you still need to explain how it's malware, because there's clearly no remote access as you claim in your post.
From my perspective you're just trying to sell your book with a very poor attempt of advertisement.

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

What has this to do with Development?

Collapse
 
ianhobbs profile image
ian hobbs

If you invest all your eggs into one basket and somebodey else holds the key....

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

There is no place for politics in development, even if I dislike fb I will still use React this is disrespectful for the guys who created it.

Collapse
 
grajghimire profile image
Ghimire Gaurav Raj • Edited

I personally don't use react, I ❤️ Vue.
But this just seems like a shameless ploy to sell the book.
I just hope we as a developer community are smart enough to not fall for the lie. I have nothing against you but I hope no one, from here atleast purchases your book.