DEV Community

thebigdavec
thebigdavec

Posted on

I'm 52 and have just become a student

What made me do it?

I found out that Harvard offers a free bootcamp for beginning web development. Not that I'm just beginning. But I am beginning to feel frustrated at the speed of my progress.

That's where a bootcamp comes in. And I couldn't do it if it cost me money.

A little history

I've been using computers for many, many years. Since I was approximately 14 years old so, you know, 38 years or so at this point. But I kind of stopped being really into programming after I lost my trusty Amiga and moved over to Windows. It just wasn't much fun anymore.

Now, on the Mac, and after having become a professional entertainer in the interim, I have gotten back into coding. Partly thanks to lockdown pulling my living from under my feet. Partly thanks to needing a website for my business and wanting full control over what said site can do.

Along came edX

So now, thanks to some amazing, free online resources, I am a student for at least the next 16 weeks. This blog post is one of the first early steps into that course. It's long. It's intense. It's a real challenge.

Most of all, I firmly believe it's worth it.

Top comments (0)