DEV Community

Cover image for 8 Months and Counting.
TheCommieAxolotl
TheCommieAxolotl

Posted on

8 Months and Counting.

Brought over from Rela.

In tech, the hardest commodity to keep is motivation. Sure, if you're sponsored by a massive company or salaried at a FAANG, you can keep going as long as you like. But for an independent, developing things on the side, it's a lot harder.

I made that my last blog post in the honeymoon phase of the project.
I was excited, I was motivated, and I was ready to go.
I had a plan, I had a vision, and I had a goal.
I was going to make something that I could be proud of, and that people would love to use.

And then I started really working on it.

Turns out, building a git client from the ground up is hard. There are countless features to implement and using something with such a temperamental API is a nightmare. So, I lost my motivation... for about 4 months.

The 4 Month Hiatus

After a while of doing other things, tinkering with some fun ideas (à la pyotr), I had some thoughts about Rela(Git) again. I started by implementing a simple CLI tool for the commit standard, and then I started working on the client again.

What's with the new look?

During the Hiatus, I came up with a design system that I call Illyrica (ih-lyr-i-cah), after a technologically advanced planet in a certain Sci-Fi series.
Quickly, I ported RelaGit to use this new design system, and I'm really happy with the results.

Head over to the main blog post to see the difference.

What's really next?

I know I said this last time, but I'm going to try and keep this blog updated more often, as well as posting to [here].

But for now, cya!

Top comments (0)