DEV Community

Rishi Purwar
Rishi Purwar

Posted on

Question on 'contributing to open source project'

I want to contribute to open source projecs like mozilla web docs(mozilla mdn) but I don't know how to contribute in this project. I read its contribution guide, it tells that it uses docker and many other things.I stuck in other projects as well.
But I know git and github, and I did previously 1 contribution in 1 open source project
So,I want to know how to contribute to open source projects like mozilla.
Please help me out.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
thefierycoder profile image
Rishi Purwar • Edited

I don't get stuck in searching for projects or bugs.
I stuck in setting up a local environment for that repository.
Today, I select the fossasia voice republic project and find a bug from an issue section. And after some debugging, I can solve that bug.
But here comes a part where I get stuck in setting up the local environment for this project.

I read readme.md of this project. It is very intimidating. But I tried to understand what is written in it. After juggling for an hour or two, I didn't understand anything.
The actual problem comes in setting up the local environment.
Please help me how to setup a local environment for a repository.
Thanks

Collapse
 
delta456 profile image
Swastik Baranwal

Be active in their community and learn more things daily.

Collapse
 
thefierycoder profile image
Rishi Purwar

Ok, Thanks for your response.
But I want to know if I am interested in some project and I want to contribute.
So, How will I do? I want to know the process.
Refer to my question for more detail.

Collapse
 
arpan45 profile image
Arpan Adhikari

Hi, You can check this link. All the resources are available to get started. wiki.mozilla.org/Contribute.
Also you can contribute to their GitHub projects : github.com/mozilla