DEV Community

Jahleel A.
Jahleel A.

Posted on

Blazor, an experience...

So, I've recently started trying to develop single page applications in C#. Because, C# is my favourite language to exist. I love it. Its the ace of my hand, the cream and the hot chocolate. I love it. So when .NET 5 released, started to get curious about ASP.NET as I had heard it got better in dotnet5. So, as always I sacrificed myself sanity, hours of sleep and my heaps of coffee and got to work.

Day 1

First thing, I love the tag system. Being able to just create a Razor component, sytle it and then use it where I want in what ever component or page I want is actually helpful af. Day one was nothing special, I just made a project, explored a bit and closed it cause I was in biology and my teacher was starting to become suspicious of what I'm doing.

Day 2

I started trying to integrate API's into it. Sending GET and POST requests to different API's and exploring different ways I can display, render, change and live update data. It was fun.

Day 3

I attempted to make a simple page where you can login and view the website. So to do that I used the Microsoft. AspNetCore.Identity package and it worked a charm. It was really cool how the Microsoft AspNetCore.Identity.UI package also had so much that comes out of the box. So when I tried to change how it looks, I didn't have a fun time. To override the default UI pages you have to do somthing called Scaffolding. This was a pain in my ass because of all the errors thrown at me. I spent the rest of the week trying to fix it but in the end I gave up. If anyone has any experience with Blazor in C# then please reach out and help me. Much appreciated.

Anyways, that was my week of exploring a new library. Hope you enjoyed.

Stay safe and stay amazing people.

Top comments (0)