DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v15

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

WELCOME TO THE INTERNET

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: what's your favorite non-coding hobby?

Top comments (369)

Collapse
 
luisandrestobon profile image
luisandrestobon

Hello, my name is Luis. I'm from Colombia. I'm an electronic engineer but I love to code. I'm not a pro in this, but I try my best to learn every day. I'm learning Angular 6 right now. My favorite non-coding hobby is perhaps to travel. That's it, thanks a lot.

Collapse
 
benjcal profile image
Benjamin Calderon

Saludos Luis!
I'm a developer but I'm in love with embedded dev, embedded Linux, microcontrollers and such (ST32 HAL is beautiful in my opinion!)

Anyways, welcome!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

here's one way:

const myFunc = (number) => 
  number === 1 ? 0 : number === 0 ? 1 : null;

myFunc(1)
// 0

myFunc(0)
// 1

myFunc(2)
// null
Collapse
 
trocha11 profile image
nilson

Hola yo soy NiluX o Linux

Collapse
 
zarulyakuza profile image
zarulyakuza

:) nice

Collapse
 
henrygmoshugi profile image
Comment marked as low quality/non-constructive by the community. View Code of Conduct
henrygmoshugi

Oh yes embedded is most in use this days and grow like multiply as everyone now know streaming even small companies and organisations going for streaming

Collapse
 
uniquely_deji profile image
Fareedah Amzah

Hello Luis. Good to have you here

Collapse
 
joredjs profile image
Joredjs

Good!! I´m from Colombia too !!

Collapse
 
polisettymanoj profile image
Manoj Kumar

Hi Sir, Can You answer this question??
Write a vanilla javascript program that returns 0 when input is 1 and 1 when input is 0. Do not use if, for, while, switch, do statements. Write as many implementation as you can think of (minimum 4 ways).

Collapse
 
luisandrestobon profile image
luisandrestobon

Hello. Well, I think this is it:

f1 = (input) => { return (1+input)%2 };

f1(0); // 1
f1(1); // 0

f2 = (input) => { return (1-input)%2 };

f2(0); // 1
f2(1); // 0

f3 = (input) => { return ~input&1 };

f3(0); // 1
f3(1); // 0

f4 = (input) => { return +!input };

f4(0); // 1
f4(1); // 0

I'm waiting for your comments about it. Thank you.

Collapse
 
devwanjihia profile image
Samson Wanjihia

return [1, 0][input]

Collapse
 
jpabloobando profile image
Jose Pablo Obando Gonzalez

Hello !!

Collapse
 
kuil09 profile image
Hwang, Geon Gu

Nice to meet you Luis.

Collapse
 
manzanit0 profile image
Javier Garcia

Nice! :) What kind of projects do you work in as an Electronic Engineer?

Collapse
 
luisandrestobon profile image
luisandrestobon

Well, nothing exciting. I worked for a medical company for about 7 years, but my job was to install, repair and do maintenance to medical devices. Right now my job is in the management area... kind of boring sometimes, but a job is a job ;)

Collapse
 
zarulyakuza profile image
Comment marked as low quality/non-constructive by the community. View Code of Conduct
zarulyakuza

hmm.... i need the .. have a example??

Collapse
 
decimalator profile image
Ryan Ordway

Hello!

My name is Ryan and I'm a systems admin pretending to be a programmer. Looking to learn from others and hopefully give back too! Most of my experience is on the Systems/Ops side, with most of my programming being of the integration/monitoring/back end fun variety.

Collapse
 
thedavidjohnson profile image
David G. Johnson

As a fellow pretender, it's great to see you here, Ryan!

Collapse
 
sarah_chima profile image
Sarah Chima

Welcome, Ryan. You'll surely learn a lot here.

Collapse
 
ohffs profile image
ohffs

I've just switched back to programming after a 10-15yr stint as a sysadmin - not having to fret about dodgy disk drives or power outages is the main plus point so far ;-)

Collapse
 
imhotep111 profile image
Dr Imhotep AlBasiel • Edited

That sounds like a lot of fun I'm the CEO of a company and I'm not very good at programming the software firm that I developed we have over 300 developers so I don't really have to be good at coding but I have to be good at Concepts and business management but I'm really good at reading people being able to read people is really important in software development and business which is what I excel in I do code for fun with unity and JavaScript. I really should be better at coding but when you have 300 software engineers and you an American company it gives you a lot of clout and imagination to make your ideas come to life rapidly started a game development company with my four Sons because teaching him about business and technology. I thought was really important for what better way to do that than to teach business Concepts and basic development then to make your own games.

Thread Thread
 
imhotep111 profile image
Dr Imhotep AlBasiel

What you see in your inner eye can become your reality

Collapse
 
zhadyrassyn profile image
Daniyar Zhadyrassyn

Sounds cool! Good luck to you!

Collapse
 
uniquely_deji profile image
Fareedah Amzah

Hi Ryan. You make it sound fun.

Collapse
 
samvjazz profile image
Sameer Jadhav #JA4Me

Hello Ryan! Great to meet you. What technologies do you use for automation being a sysadmin?

Collapse
 
the_mhudson profile image
Matthew Hudson

Programming can have a steep learning curve. Don't let that discourage you.
For starters:
-Pick ONE language to start with.
-WRITE lots of code. If you don't know what to write, try Project Euler. They have many small puzzles to solve.
-READ other people's code.

Collapse
 
attacomsian profile image
Atta

Hi everyone,

My name is Atta and I am a Software Engineer with over 5 years of experience. I mostly work as a full stack developer in Java, Spring Boot, Angular and Node.js. I would love to explore and contribute meaningfully to dev.to.

Collapse
 
manzanit0 profile image
Javier Garcia

Welcome! :)

Collapse
 
ctimmerman profile image
Cees Timmerman

Hi all, I've been coding since 1996 and am currently overwhelmed by the many different frameworks and tech stacks. Even in Python (Why use asyncio instead of concurrent?). Same reason I quit Magic: The Gathering for 15 years when phasing was added after cumulative upkeep and one had to memorize those rules.

Collapse
 
manzanit0 profile image
Javier Garcia

I quit Magic too when they kept on adding more and more rules rofl

Collapse
 
ctimmerman profile image
Cees Timmerman • Edited

Fortunately, new rules are now explained on the cards themselves, and many have smartphones to look up rules online.

Collapse
 
dgbrewer1989 profile image
David Brewer

Hello!

My name is David. I work as a Software Engineer on backend servers running Spring Boot. I can't remember how I found out about dev.to but I'm happy to be here and be involved in this community.

Collapse
 
zhadyrassyn profile image
Daniyar Zhadyrassyn

Cool! What resources do you use to learn Spring boot framework?

Collapse
 
ahsannaveed007 profile image
Ahsan Naveed

Hello Everyone,

My name is Ahsan Naveed. I am a 4th year Computing Science student looking forward to exploring this community and learning more from Y'all!

Best,
Ahsan

Collapse
 
dgbrewer1989 profile image
David Brewer

Hello Ahsan!

Collapse
 
ohadpr profile image
ohadpr

Hi all, my name is Ohad. I've been writing code since I was 13 years old and still consider programming and its various abstractions (logical reasoning, etc) as one of the main tools I use in my life. I started with computer graphics programming in what is known as the Demoscene and in recent history have been building web projects of all sorts and kinds.

Collapse
 
liana profile image
Liana Felt (she/her)

Hey welcome to dev.to! How/why did you transition into web development?

Collapse
 
ohadpr profile image
ohadpr

Hey Liana, it was a pretty natural thing as more and more of my time as a user moved to using web apps/sites as opposed to then-native apps.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
sarah_chima profile image
Sarah Chima

Welcome Ohad

Collapse
 
ralstonia profile image
ralstonia

1

Collapse
 
adigautam profile image
adigautam

Hello, my name is Aditya. I am from India, currently working in USA. I am working in Quality Assurance field but interested in learning on how to code. I am learning Python and hoping to learn & share a lot in this forum. Thanks!

Collapse
 
_bigblind profile image
Frederik 👨‍💻➡️🌐 Creemers

Hi Aditya, welcome to the community :). I hope you find it useful.

Collapse
 
dikshantpatodia profile image
Dikshant Patodia

Hi all,

I am a Front-end Engineer who love to code and develop web apps and websites in ReactJS with an inclination towards creating meaningful components and styling up with Material UI and SCSS (also know many other CSS frameworks ;)

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Great to have you Dikshant!

Collapse
 
forkachild profile image
Suhel Chakraborty

Hi, I'm Suhel, from India. I'm a software engineer, working as an Android developer. I'm experienced in NodeJS, VueJS, iOS(Swift), MongoDB and some others. I just love learning new technologies in every field and try to implement them. I love driving, talking, being creative, discussing about new ideas. I hope to add some value here.

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Welcome aboard Suhel. Having you here already adding value. I'm sure others would love to hear your personal experience with the technologies you mentioned.

Collapse
 
gireeshkademani profile image
Gireesh kademani • Edited

Hi Dev's

Gireesh Kademani here, soo called Software Engineer(Gopher) with over 2+ year of experience, i work mostly on 'GO' and C# for most of bank applications for forex.

Learning, Exploring and Sharing is the moto of life.

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Great having you Gireesh. Why you say so-called?

Collapse
 
josead profile image
José Antonio Domínguez

Hello Devs! My name is Jose Antonio. I'm from Tandil a village in the center of Buenos Aires, Argentina. I'm a student of Systems Engineering. My interests as a developer are broad, from design and implement nice looking interfaces to solving algorithmic problems. I've worked in Web Development for the past 5 years and I hope to be able to share my dev travels and hear yours!

Regards!

Collapse
 
keco39 profile image
Kevin Cocquyt

Been working in the IT business since 2001 but never felt too confident to share my knowledge with the rest of the community. Started out programming cash registers using proprietary software, dipped my toes into .NET on my next job when it first came out but the next couple of years were mostly building webforms (just forms!) so not that exciting. Tried to go into consultancy next to experience newer things but, except for 1 excellent job (before I went on a world trip), never really got me anywhere until I found my current (fixed) job. Assisted in introducing .NET MVC into the company, been able to learn on the job and applying the latest in tech, project after project... Azure, JS frameworks as Knockout and Vue, self-hosted services... Always after extensive research about whether we could/should use it or not, creating a fond knowledge about different kinds of things, resulting in enough confidence to start sharing stuff. Hopefully, this will last as other (skilled) developers will eventually review the things I will write :)

PS: About my favorite non-coding hobby. That would be ice-hockey, active as a goalie and passive as a crazy San Jose Sharks fan.
PPS: I'm Belgian!

Collapse
 
daviddesloovere profile image
Deef

Welcome Kevin. Yes, it's me. Your colleague.😊

Collapse
 
keco39 profile image
Kevin Cocquyt

Then I'm glad I only said positive things about my current job :D

Collapse
 
enky79 profile image
Enky79

Hello everyone! I am Enky! I found this app through Github. I think it looks fantastic and I am really eager to contribute to this community! I am studying machine learning and I normally code in Python, but I am learning Javascript on the side. I am mainly interested in machine learning, game development and web development. Open source projects really fascinate me and I really want to contribute to one and start getting that experience.

Nice to meet you guys all! :)

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

happy to have you here! yes, open source is one of the finest ways to learn real-world programming

Collapse
 
enky79 profile image
Enky79

Thank you!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.