DEV Community

Ingila Ejaz for This is Angular

Posted on • Updated on

Safely Experiment with Angular 18: A Guide for Developers with Existing 16 & 17 Projects

Exploring Angular 18 Without Disrupting Existing Projects

I was recently working on an Angular 17 project and felt the itch to explore the exciting new features of Angular 18. However, I wanted to do this in a way that wouldn't affect my existing projects that were already in production or QA phases. This presented a bit of a challenge:

  • Global Angular 17: I had Angular CLI version 17 installed globally.
  • Angular 18 Requirement: Node.js version 18.19 or above was a prerequisite for Angular 18.
  • Preserving Existing Projects: I needed to keep my existing Angular 17 projects untouched.

Leveraging Node Version Manager (NVM):

To tackle this, I decided to leverage a Node Version Manager (NVM). NVM allows you to manage multiple Node.js versions on your system, making it easy to switch between them for different projects. Here's how I set it up:

  1. Install NVM: You can follow the instructions on the official NVM website to download and install it here.

  2. Install Node.js 18+: Once NVM is installed, I used the command

nvm install latest 

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This installed the most recent Node.js version (which at the time was 22.4.1).

Creating a Separate Development Environment:

Next, I created a separate directory for my Angular 18 practice projects. This helps in isolating the environment from my existing projects.

Installing Angular 18 Locally:

To install Angular 18 for this specific project, I used the following command:

npm install @angular/cli@latest 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Notice the absence of -g. This installs the latest Angular CLI version (which was 18.1.0 at the time) locally within the project directory, without affecting the global installation.

Surprise! Not Quite There Yet:

Angular 17 (Global installation)

When I attempted to create a new project using ng new practice-project, it defaulted to using the globally installed Angular CLI version (17). This is where the magic of npx comes in.

Introducing Node Package Executor (npx):

npx allows you to execute packages from npm without installing them globally. This proved to be the key to using the specific Angular CLI version (18) for my new project. Here's the winning command:

npx @angular/cli@18 new my-angular-18-project
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I verify the project by executing ng version

Angular 18 (Local configured)

Success! Exploring Angular 18:

After waiting for the necessary dependencies to install, I had a brand new Angular 18 project (my-angular-18-project) ready to go! This allowed me to explore all the new features of Angular 18, including the exciting @let syntax, without interfering with my existing Angular 17 projects.

Top comments (0)