DEV Community

Thomas Bnt β˜•
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Posted on • Updated on

Followers are you here?

I would like to know how many percentages I get of views, likes etc.. on my followers. I've got a lot, but I find that there is a lot of inter-reactions missing.

Update

Thanks for your reply, I opened a new Issue about that :

Improving statistics and reducing ghosts #6608

Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.

I've got a lot of followers, but when I post a new article, I get little interaction and few views. This is really too bad and I'm not the only one who might be frustrated...

Describe the solution you'd like

I would like two things :

  • A upgrade of Dashboard

    • Add a graph for statistics
    • Triage by weeks/months
    • Graph with colors for distinct news followers, unsubscribings and inactives accounts.
  • Implement a system for clear inactives followers :

    • It would be displayed in the graph with a distinct color to see that they were inactive lost accounts.

Describe alternatives you've considered

No alternatives for me, if you have a idea in concert with mine, share it ! πŸ‘‹

Additional context

I did a post to get some stats. I didn't get much feedback, but I'm happy to read it.

➑️ Followers are you here? β€” Dev.to

Do πŸ‘‹

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I’m here!

Sadly a large % of our users stay logged out even when they’ve once signed up. We’re improving the following mechanics though to improve that πŸ˜„

I’d be interested to see the results here.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

It distorts the statistics suddenly .. why not ensure that users who have not been logged in for X times are no longer considered followers?

So improve the dashboard panel by integrating simple curves to have a history? And differentiate the loss of inactive members by a purple color for example and an unsubscribe by red?

sorry if nosence on certain sentence, I used G. Translate, too long for me and complicated

Collapse
 
kedark profile image
Kedar Kodgire

So improve the dashboard panel by integrating simple curves to have a history? And differentiate the loss of inactive members by a purple color for example and an unsubscribe by red?

This would be wonderful Thomas,
I hope dev team considers this idea.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜• • Edited

Thanks, I will open a Issue ! πŸ‘

Edit : Link to issue

Collapse
 
kedark profile image
Kedar Kodgire

Cool!
Let's see what happens..

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad • Edited

As Dev gets more and more users, managing with them is gonna get tougher. I noticed this with Quora, as the user base increased, the content quality decreased. Just today I saw some account spam the feed with multiple posts here.

I wonder how the core team will deal with it

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

I hope that doesn't happen on Dev.to as far as spam is concerned.

Collapse
 
veslav3 profile image
Roy Honders

Hello there. Comment Γ§a va?

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜• • Edited

Bonjour ! πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
florincornea profile image
Cornea Florin

πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

okay thanks!

Collapse
 
nans profile image
Nans Dumortier

πŸ‡«πŸ‡·

Collapse
 
themobiledev profile image
Chris McKay

I'm still here. I try to visit a couple of times per week. It's my go-to now, maybe even more than Stack Overflow.