DEV Community

thyamews
thyamews

Posted on

Learning to code in the wilderness

Project specs:
Become a decent python junior and escape the (film) industry where I burned out and crashed at 35.
I like new ideas, learning, and to solve problems, so i figured I'd look for an industry where one gets paid for that sort of thing.

commit 33% of CS50 (HEAD -> master)

    C is the deep-ish end of the pool but I'm glad I 
    went for it

commit 100% Python for Everyone 

    Worth it for the calming presence of Dr Chuck.

commit Some tiny Django projects

commit Some katas

commit 50% of python automation Google certificate  

   Research said recruiters don't roll eyes at those quite as 
   much as the rest.

commit 20% of 'Test-Driven Development with Python'

   Learning the mindset, coding along

commit Working on a small portfolio project

   This is the most anxiety inducing part atm

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Yes, I'm the sort of person who needs to have a few things on the go, and, far as neurology understands, different times of day are better for different types of learning/work.

Right now I'm
working through CS50 to catch up to the front-end bit, so it'll be where I'm at with the TDD book
Listening to the Google humanoids
Gathering courage to sign up for some open source project.

I wrote this mostly to keep myself on track, but if you're on a similar boat or feel the calling to help newbs, I'd appreciate you dropping me a line.

Top comments (0)