DEV Community

Tirta Keniten
Tirta Keniten

Posted on

I'm Making Test Management Tool

I work in small marketing team in hospitality industry. Our goal is to deliver marketing message, run campaign, and sell hotel room and other room services. My team members come from multiple background, marketing, content creator, design graphics and SEM. It's so lucky work with them.

Our latest project is a web based application that help hotel guest to order room service foods, and other service. The development ran smoothly, but the test was a bit messy.

My team wanted test the app, they want to "feel" the interaction between the app and the user (hotel guest). I don't familiar TTD, neither do they. So we test the app in obsolete way, simply by open the app, register/sign in, order etc. When they found errors they reported in slack. I ask the input, they forgot! They just type, submit, click, click, click, don't know what they did, and reported as errors. So annoying.

The idea is to make the test more manageable by providing form and record it in database. The test is grouped by project, and have multiple step testing, also the prerequisite.

For the framework, I use Laravel + Vue. I make this project as Laravel package, so it easily decoupled from the main project.

I made the initial commit on Github. This is the repo: https://github.com/tirta-keniten/testable

This project is not finished yet.

What do you think, guys? Loved to know your thought in the comment below.

Top comments (0)