DEV Community

Cover image for Google Routines
Tina Huynh
Tina Huynh

Posted on

Google Routines

Table of Contents

  1. Make Your Workday More Efficient
  2. Google Assistant Commands

Google assistant routines are incredibly easy to use. If this is your first time managing google assistant routines, this link will help.

Pre-built Routines

  • Good morning routine
  • Bedtime routine
  • Leaving home routine
  • I'm home routine
  • Commuting to work routine
  • Commuting back home routine

As a personal preference, I have been using the Good Morning and Bedtime routines the most. I get information on the weather, upcoming birthdays and events, reminders, and the latest tech news in the morning. Listening to the news is a wonderful part of my day as I am eating breakfast and/or making my morning coffee. Then each night, I get the next day's weather, reminders, first event details, alarms, etc. To me, it's a great way to get a quick outlook on each day.

Make Your Workday More Efficient

1. Stay on top of your meetings

Never miss or be late to another meeting by saying "Hey Google, join my next meeting" to hop on the call. You can make calls with Google assistant as well.

2. Manage Your Schedule

As new events pop up, easily add them to your calendar by saying "Hey Google, add to calendar" or "create an appointment", then provide the name, date, and time of the event.

3. Set Reminders

Reminders can be at a specific time or location. You simply say "Hey Google, remind me to [task] at [time/location]". Reminders can also be recurring.

4. Set alarms/timers

Getting woken up from a productivity nap couldn't be easier. Gotta make sure you don't miss your afternoon meeting after all.

5. Remember Specific Things

You can tell Google what you need to remember. For example, "Hey Google, remember that Michael has a 10-year-old daughter named Alice". Then you would ask, "What did I say about [subject]" (ie, Michael's daughter)

Google Assistant Commands

For productivity, commands include:

  • "Hey Google, when is my next alarm?"
  • "Hey Google, set a timer for [time]"
  • "Hey Google, add [item] to my shopping list"
  • "Hey Google, how do you make chicken soup?"
  • "Ok, Google, remember that I put my passport in the filing cabinet"
  • "Ok, google, where is my passport?"

For searching the web, commands include:

  • "Hey Google, do I need an umbrella today?"
  • "Hey Google, what's Samsung trading at?"
  • "Hey Google, how far is [location] from [location]?"
  • "Hey Google, how many calories are in [food]?"

For scheduling, commands include:

  • "Hey Google, what does my day look like?"
  • "Ok Google, list all events for January 14"
  • "Ok Google, what/when/where is my next event?"
  • "Hey Google, what are my reminders for tomorrow?"

Making phone calls:

  • "Hey Google, call [phone number]"
  • "Hey Google, call [contact name]"
  • "Hey Google, redial"
  • "Hey Google, stop/disconnect/end call/hang up"

Easter eggs

  • "Hey Google, do a barrel roll"
  • "Hey Google, what's the loneliest number?"
  • "Hey Google, what's your best pickup line?"
  • "Hey Google, talk like Yoda"
  • "Hey Google, serenade me"
  • "Hey Google, where's Waldo?"
  • "Hey Google, make me a sandwich"
  • "Hey Google, when am I?"

Conclusion

Technology's purpose is to help and aid us. It is to enhance our experiences in life and make things easier for us as it advances. I can't wait to see what the future holds, and to contribute to that advancement myself.

Until next time,
Happy coding!

Top comments (0)