DEV Community

Cover image for I found a tool to try open-source projects quickly!!
TrystanCocolatte
TrystanCocolatte

Posted on • Updated on

I found a tool to try open-source projects quickly!!

Recently my team has been working on a new project that requires a gateway. So I had to decide the technology pattern and started to try some open-source gateway projects. What I didn't expect is that I failed to complete the dev environment and got stuck at the first step. It was already one and a half hours past when I finally started the Etcd database!

So I turned to Henry, who's experienced at programming and knows many efficient tools. He recommended a tool Tin(https://www.teamcode.com/docs/en-US/tin/what-is-tin) From TeamCode Cloud Collaborative Development Platform that can auto-build applications in seconds. It seems that is exactly what I needed! I registered an account and started trying.
According to the guidebook, I had to setup the workspace and create a Tin application. Currently, it supports 3 ways: Git Repo, Docker Repo, Dockerfile.

Then I filled in the information as required, set the Ports, Variables and Entrypoint.
The whole process only took me a few minutes, and the Gateway app was created!
I turned off the logging interface and saw an Endpoint module below that provided the URL for public access. After copying the URL, the administration interface of the gateway appeared. I tried several other projects later, but I failed to build some open-source projects.
From the perspective of an engineer, I think Tin(https://www.teamcode.com/products/tin) is a very useful tool to improve R&D efficiency. It could avoid us from the cumbersome process of installing open-source projects and allows us to focus on the more important things at hand. Therefore, it has great value. But the team should focus on the user experience and support more open-source projects. So that we can experience more great projects easily and choose the technology architecture efficiently.

Top comments (0)