DEV Community

Tue
Tue

Posted on

Initial progress for Release 0.4

The final project for the course asked me to make significant instead of small contributions to the open-source. After wandering in the open-source, I decided to work on telescope maintained by Seneca folks.

Understanding the issue:

The issue asks me to expose the feed queue maintained by Bull to post service.

It took me a while to understand roughly the file structure and how different modules work as this is my first time contributing.

I started off by reading the backend code especially any queue-related code. The backend uses Bull(to facilitate asynchronous behaviors) + Redis (ioredis) to manage the feed queue, it essentially parses blog posts from each feed (RSS feed url) and each parsing is a job to be added to the Bull queue.

Attempting to solve:

My idea is to create a new Bull queue client with the option createClient (to create new ioredis client connections) to be an ioredis instance connecting to the Redis database.

const Bull = require('bull');
const redis = require('./redis'); //ioredis instance from satellite 

const queue = new Bull('feed-queue', {
  createClient: redis,
});

module.exports = queue;
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also added a route to return the queue's job but the response was a very long loading screen. I've got to spend more time on figuring this out, maybe it is not the correct idea. I hope to solve this issue soon!

feeds.get('/info', async (req, res, next) => {
  let jobNum;
  try {
    jobNum = await queue.count();
    res.json({ jobNum });
  } catch (err) {
    logger.error({ err }, "Unable to get queue's info");
    next(err);
  }
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)