DEV Community

Tue
Tue

Posted on

Pre 3.0

The closer we approaching release 3.0, the more we try to narrow the scope of work and honestly I like how each of us knows what area of focus to take charge on and trim down the excess issues.

My tasks for this release again are mostly on parser service:

  • Remove the src/backend
  • Update invalid/flag feed functions to use Supabase
  • Update docs after removing src/backend

But let's focus on what I did the week prior to 3.0 release

Removing the src/backend:

One of the problem I came across was that we passed in our staging SUPABASE_URL and development SERVICE_ROLE_KEY to parser, the pair would never work and we'd never get staging SERVICE_ROLE_KEY as it is a secret. I had to change the pair so that the client could work locally, this created another challenge.
The reason we used staging url was Duke suggestion, he wanted to use the feeds from staging database instead of seeding feeds every time a developer spins up the services locally. Duke quickly wrote a solution to this in #3541 saving us from lengthy setup steps.

This wasn't an easy task, I had to do a lot of detective work, I had to find out which microservice or module that used the legacy backend, luckily there weren't much. Removing dependencies was mundane too, I had to figure out which dependency in was peer dependency in the root package.json.

Deploying the code to production made me a bit anxious, it did break production because I did not consider the nginx proxy config for legacy backend so nginx kept breaking. See those locations removed in #3550.

Top comments (0)