DEV Community

Cover image for GeoPuzzle - arrange the pieces of the world
Viktor Tyshchenko
Viktor Tyshchenko

Posted on

GeoPuzzle - arrange the pieces of the world

Intro

I'm developing pet-project GeoPuzzle over 8 years. Here, in the form of a game, you can learn the names as well as locations of each country or a state while having fun doing it. To begin the game, select a region from the map or the list and look at its flag, coat of arms and perhaps, even more information to help you learn geography. after Registration, you can create your puzzles from more than 100,000 regions!

Project

I have an open source repo on github. Feel free to contribute and suggest new ideas.

Highs and Lows

I live in Russia, so due to political reason I have not possibilities to use a valid key for google maps. Also, I have other restrictions by Patreon, Hetzner, etc... So, I'm going to switch to my own infrastructure: Leaflet with OSM, some hosting in Russia.

Growth

This repository is a good example how to work with OSM and Wikidata via SPARQL. Also, I have some integrations for education purpose.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
raskyld profile image
Enzo Nocera

Your project is truly awesome!

Wish I had something like that when I was a kid and I needed to learn all the regions of my country (France).