DEV Community

Cover image for A Reading Management System: Now onwards
Ulises Alexander Arguelles Monjaraz
Ulises Alexander Arguelles Monjaraz

Posted on • Originally published at uaam.hashnode.dev

A Reading Management System: Now onwards

I've been a little busy, and I forget to post the second part of this series. But as the saying goes, “Late is better than never”, so let's continue.

It was the beginning of 2022, and the possibility of returning to on-site classes stood on the horizon. My reading pacing slowed down. Emotionally I was not at my best I felt sadness because of the failure of my project. I had considered dropping out of my college studies. Then, I started looking for ideas for a new project, one of them was the idea of building a library, not the computational one, but after feedback from some friends, I put that project on hold.

Sometime later, I remembered the idea for the Reading Management System and decided to give it another try.

This time, I invested more time in the business idea. Thanks to some Platzi courses, I made a Lean canvas model for it. Here I share a tweet I made with the first iteration of the Lean canvas model in Spanish because the course and my target speak Spanish.


After that, I had conversations using the Mom test methodology with possible users and friends to validate and reshape my idea.

The idea is still evolving thanks to the feedback I got during the conversations using the Mom test methodology and changes in how I read the content.

So I decided to focus first on a library that eases the development of book-related software in Haskell. More on this in the next post of this series.

Top comments (0)