DEV Community

Cover image for Meet Jarvis Workspace Manager
Utkarsh Singh
Utkarsh Singh

Posted on • Originally published at thegoodindian.in

Meet Jarvis Workspace Manager

Alt Text
Are you the kind of person who inevitably has to work on multiple tabs due to the complexity of your work?
We have all been there. You are researching about something, or building something, or doing any other task on your browser, and you end up opening at least 4 tabs if the task is simple, 10/12 tabs if the task is tough, or sometimes tabs you're too afraid to even count!
You know what opening so many tabs creates?
Chaos.
Yes, after a certain point, you don't even remember exactly on which tab is the information you looked at recently. You know everything that's going to help you is right in front of you, but you don't know where exactly.
And if a time comes when you have to disconnect from the work in progress, and maybe call the day or start working on some other thing, you are too much afraid to close these tabs.
Eventually, you start doing all the tasks on the same window, and mixing everything, or you open a new window and never really close anything.
One of these things is bad for your productivity while the other is bad for your memory.
A solution to get rid of this problem is saving Browser Workspaces.

There are many browser extensions, both in Chrome and Firefox that allow you to save a group of tabs as 'Workspaces'.

If you're a Chrome user, I suggest you use the following extension:
Workspace Launcher

During my time as a Chrome user, this extension really helped me to remain organized while doing multiple tasks.
Then I moved to Firefox, and (I guess) due to my poor searching skills, I couldn't find this kind of extension for Firefox. This gave me an opportunity to build my own extension! I could customize how it looked and overcome all the shortcomings I felt as a user in the Chrome extension that I used!
A week of learning and coding, and I was ready with my own Jarvis Workspace Manager!

The Jarvis-like Interface

Now, if you have read my previous blogs, you might know that I'm a huge fan of Iron Man.
Yeah, that's my home screen
Yeah, that's my home screen
By the way, here's how to do this to your PC if you're wondering: Jarvis, we love you 3000.

Anyway, so it was only fitting that I come up with an extension which makes it look like a JARVIS Interface is managing my Workspaces too!
So what do I need to achieve this? If I'm omitting the AI-enabled voice of JARVIS, then simply, a dark interface with a bluish green hue for the text and elements.
So that's what I did.
My current Workspaces in Firefox
My current Workspaces in Firefox
So this is how it looks. Feel free to stalk your way in to what I do with my life. It'll also give you a better idea to know what kind of tab groups you should save as Workspaces.

Save tabs with just one click

In the Chrome extension that I used before, I had to manually enter all URLs that I wanted to be saved as a Workspace. That was a real pain if I had more than 5 tabs open!
So I made an enhancement:
All your open tabs are saved as one Workspace and you can carry on with your work seamlessly by one single click on the Extension icon!.
Of course, you can still add all the tabs manually too (the hard way), but I don't use that feature even though I had a good time coding it!

Having a map of your best links

If you save Workspaces for all your important tasks, you have an organized list of all your best important links in the new tab page automatically.
It's not necessary to open the entire set of all the tabs every time. Sometimes we just need to go to one of the links.
All such possible links will be right in front of you the whole time.
So you won't be just replacing your Mozilla default startup page with an extension's, it would rather be an improvement over the existing one.

Developer Support

Another good reason for its usage is that you know the developer who can solve the bugs for you and bring out new features on your informal request!
Github Repo

So all the best and I hope you use a Workspace Manager extension to organize your work, because believe it or not, you need it!

Top comments (0)