DEV Community

Cover image for Placeholder Contributor
VaibhavGagneja
VaibhavGagneja

Posted on

Placeholder Contributor

Intro

I'm excited to share that I've successfully completed my first Hacktoberfest in 2023! ๐ŸŒŸ This marks a significant milestone in my journey as a developer, and I'm thrilled to have made more than 4 successful pull requests during this open source celebration

VaibhavGagneja (Vaibhav Gagneja) ยท GitHub

VaibhavGagneja has 19 repositories available. Follow their code on GitHub.

favicon github.com
.

Highs and Lows

I got lots of help from the people who manage the project, but figuring out and fixing issues became a journey of learning for me. There was a tough moment during my third contribution when the problem seemed really hard to solve. I felt unsure if I could do it, but I didn't give up. I kept going, and it was like a light bulb turning on when I not only fixed the tricky problem but also learned a lot about solving issues and staying strong in the world of open source. This experience didn't just make me better at technical stuff; it also made me more confident in facing and overcoming challenges in coding.

Growth

๐Ÿš€ Skillset Upgrade in a Nutshell!

Before Hacktoberfest 2023, I was into C#, ASP.NET, and React. During the fest, I picked up TypeScript and Node.js. Now, my toolkit is more diverse! While still rocking C# and ASP.NET, I've added TypeScript and Node.js to my skills.

This shift has not only boosted my tech skills but also changed my goals. I now aim to blend my existing and new skills in exciting projects. Thanks to Hacktoberfest, my journey in web development has taken a dynamic turn!

Successful PRs

Added Api Documentation and Unit tests #12

Changes :

  • Added Open api documentation for project apis
  • Added test cases using supertest and jest for problem api

Issues Addressed: #10

@fallen-ecstasy Pls review and merge if all good


Home page #66

Changes : Created Home page

Issue: #2

Scope: @ken1000minus7 check if all seems good and pls add Hacktoberfest accepted label


overlapping cards and header refactor #220

Issue Addressed

#218 Fixed overlapping cards and header empty space for mobile mode

Proposed Changes and Benefits

Screenshots

Header Refactor image Overlapping Cards fix image image

Notes to Reviewers

@xanderrubio Check if this seems good thankyou

Checklist

  • [x] I have thoroughly read and understand The Contribution Guidelines.
  • [x] The title of this PR follows the keyword: brief description of change format, using one of the following keywords:
    • Feature - adds new or amends existing user-facing behavior.
    • Chore - changes that have no user-facing value, refactors, dependency bumps, etc.
    • Fix - bug fixes.
    • Docs - fixing typos and adding new content.
  • [x] I have listed my proposed changes and their benefits.
  • [x] I have linked the corresponding issue in the Issues section.

Add Vaibhav-Gagneja to Before I Die #217

Issue Addressed

#188 Add Vaibhav-Gagneja to Before I Die

Proposed Changes and Benefits

Screenshots

Notes to Reviewers

@xanderrubio pls review

Checklist

  • [x] I have thoroughly read and understand The Contribution Guidelines.
  • [x] The title of this PR follows the keyword: brief description of change format, using one of the following keywords:
    • Feature - adds new or amends existing user-facing behavior.
    • Chore - changes that have no user-facing value, refactors, dependency bumps, etc.
    • Fix - bug fixes.
    • Docs - fixing typos and adding new content.
  • [x] I have listed my proposed changes and their benefits.
  • [x] I have linked the corresponding issue in the Issues section.

Feature/issue 8/create apis for coding problem #9

Hi @fallen-ecstasy, Pls check the folder structure and other changes and pls ignore commented code for now including import statements, if all good I'll proceed with tests and again push to same PR.

Top comments (0)