DEV Community

Vicki Langer
Vicki Langer

Posted on • Updated on

No Conferences != No stickers

By now, I think it's safe to assume we all know meetups and conferences are canceled for the foreseeable future. But how are we supposed to get our sticker fix?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Have you tried trading stickers online?

Digital Sticker Table

@firesphere, on Twitter, built this platform to trade stickers. They wrote a tiny bit about it here. The goal is to share the love and wealth of stickers.

How to Give Stickers

  1. Take & upload picture
  2. Get request
  3. Mail it out!

How To Get Stickers

  1. Find a sticker you want
  2. Request & give your address
  3. Check your mailbox!

Shipping

I'm not a pro, but I've done a little research. All of these numbers are based on putting the stickers in a regular letter envelope.
From the USA, it cost me $1.15 to send to Spain and the same to send to New Zealand.

Today, I found USPS sells global stamps for $1.20 each and that covers USA to anywhere in the world. However, if you're like me, I much prefer the cuteness of the other stamps. I just make sure they add up to $1.20.

If you're looking for cute af stamps, check out @sublimemarch's stamp thread!

The Wait

I have no answer for this. I don' know how long it takes for stickers to travel the world. All I know is, if you're in the USA and shipping to the USA, it should be no more than 3 days from shipping.

I sent some today to India and THe Netherlands. I'll update this post when I find out they've arrived.


Making new stickers?

I wrote a bit about how to get the most out of your stickers.

tl;dr of that post:

  • keep them small
  • include name/brand/social handle
  • make sure they have value (cuteness, reminders, funny, etc)

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
estruyf profile image
Elio Struyf

Great to see that others also love stickers and find ways to share them with others. A friend and I created a website to share our favorite stickers called Pimp Your Own Device. Definitely going to check out Sticker Trade Me. I had never heard from it before. Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
benibela profile image
Benito van der Zander

I have 2 hackober stickers, 6 DEV stickers, 2 koala stickers, 6 shark stickers, some github stickers, and soon 1 kotlin sticker

I do not need stickers. I do not know what to do with them.

I do not want to throw them away, but I also do want to pay for postage

Collapse
 
firesphere profile image
Simon

Although I'm not providing a way to do payments (I don't want to), I am okay with people asking for postage costs. If you upload your stickers and add a note that you would like to be reimbursed for your postage costs, that's perfectly fine with me.

As per the CoC, I'm not okay with asking for money to make a profit though :)

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer • Edited

I’m actually putting together welcome kits for new devs. I’m accepting donations of people’s unwanted stickers.

link to site about the welcome kit

If you’re interested in contributing them, I might be interested in paying the postage. How much would it cost to send them to the USA? If it’s crazy expensive and even if it’s not, I’d highly suggest giving them to other devs you know.

Collapse
 
benibela profile image
Benito van der Zander

The link does not work.

A standard letter to the USA is 1.10 €, over 20 gram it is 1.70€. I am not sure if stickers count as letter. The cheapest package would be 4.89 € up to 2 kg

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Oh this is so fun!!

Collapse
 
horrorofpartybeach profile image
Emma

I love this! Thank you :) I haven't been to many conferences yet and I've been wondering how I can get some new stickers now that a lot of conferences have gone online.

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

This is a fantastic way to do it! I love sharing the stickers I have. And it’s always so fun to get stickers in the mail.