DEV Community

Cover image for That time I used a simple machine learning algorithm to classify deforested areas.
Victor Ribeiro
Victor Ribeiro

Posted on • Originally published at github.com

That time I used a simple machine learning algorithm to classify deforested areas.

Deforestation

That time I used KNN to classify deforested areas for my machine learning class.

This project was developed as an assignment for a machine learning class, where we were given a pictures from the Amazon forest and we should write a machine learning algorithm to identify possibles deforested areas, including farming areas.

I then gather some training data, generated a histogram for every image and analysed the final image with a simple KNN (k=7) I wrote.

I was very happy with the results I got given the little code I wrote (this project is from 2017).

The code for the project is here

Top comments (0)