DEV Community

Vishnu Das Puthukudi
Vishnu Das Puthukudi

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2023: My Journey in Open Source

Every year, Hacktoberfest is a celebration of open-source software where participants from all over the world gather to work together on fascinating projects and make improvements. I had the honour of taking part in Hacktoberfest 2023 this year, and it was an exciting adventure full of development, learning, and difficulties. As an open source supporter and tech enthusiast, I jumped at the chance to contribute significantly to a range of projects. I'll take you through my Hacktoberfest experience in this blog post, emphasizing the problems I solved, the pull requests I made, the blog entries I wrote, the difficulties I encountered, and the insightful insights I discovered.
Come along on this journey with me as I explain the nuances of my contributions to open source and offer insights into the dynamic and cooperative open source community. This trip offers something for everyone, regardless of skill level—it might be for a beginner programmer, an experienced developer, or someone who is just interested in the wonders of open-source software. Now let's explore the open-source world and go right into the heart of Hacktoberfest.

Added TLDR Page for Azure Kubernetes Service (AKS) Command

Issue Description: It was necessary to improve the Azure Kubernetes Service (AKS) command by include a TLDR (Too Long; Didn't Read) page. Users might use this as a fast reference, as it summarizes the main features and instructions associated with AKS.
My Contribution: My contribution was a succinct yet educational TLDR page for the AKS command, which I made with much enthusiasm after accepting this challenge. This update was made to help users quickly become familiar with AKS capability.

Adding quotations to QuoteVerse

Issue Description: The objective assigned to me for this problem was to improve the QuoteVerse project by including fresh quotations. QuoteVerse is an online resource that offers users motivational and thought-provoking quotations.
My Contribution: I jumped into this issue headfirst and filled QuoteVerse with a tonne of inspirational and intriguing quotes. These sayings were chosen with care to encourage and brighten the spirits of platform visitors.

Add Rate Limiting for PyFuzz

Issue Description: In order to prevent misuse or overuse of the programme by a single user, rate limitation had to be implemented for the PyFuzz project. This included imposing restrictions on the frequency at which particular procedures might be carried out.
My Contribution: I took on the task of integrating rate limitation into PyFuzz and put in place the required safeguards and limitations to avoid abuse. The purpose of this update was to enhance the performance and stability of the application.

Integrate Weatherbit Forecast API

Issue Description: This problem concerned project integration for the Weatherbit Forecast API. Users may get real-time weather information by integrating weather APIs into apps, which supply vital meteorological data.
My Descrption: With my effective integration of the Weatherbit Forecast API into the assigned project, customers may easily get the most recent weather forecasts. The functionality and user experience of the project were improved by this modification.

Being a part of Hacktoberfest 2023 was a very fulfilling experience. I got the chance to contribute to a range of open-source projects throughout the event, each with its own set of objectives and difficulties. Through these efforts, I was able to advance my technical abilities and significantly influence the open-source community.

Top comments (0)