DEV Community

Vitek Průcha
Vitek Průcha

Posted on

SQL or NoSQL?

Hi everyone. If I want to create an application like Asana or Trello, should I use SQL or NoSQL database?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ • Edited

trello uses mongodb afaik.
personally I've let go of sql.
if I'm doing something highly relational I'll use neo4j graph db for my future projects. until then I'm quite content with mongodb.
but I gotta say it was not an easy journey.
I had to totally forget everything I knew about rdbms and adopt a totally new mentality of working with nosql.

Collapse
 
vlasales profile image
Vlastimil Pospichal

Trello runs on many servers, so MongoDB makes sense. However, a SQL database is more convenient on one server.

Collapse
 
margo_hdb profile image
Margo McCabe

You could always try a hybrid SQL / NoSQL database like HarperDB so you can benefit from the best functionality of both worlds.

Collapse
 
vlasales profile image
Vlastimil Pospichal

SQL.

Collapse
 
manishfoodtechs profile image
manish srivastava

Nice questions.... ,😁👍