DEV Community

Cover image for Using SDS011 particle sensor with my Android phone
Vedran Vidovic
Vedran Vidovic

Posted on • Updated on

Using SDS011 particle sensor with my Android phone

After some testing of SDS011 particle sensor with my laptop (s described in the first post of this series) I realized it is not the most practical way to check for the air quality. I needed to take a laptop with me in a backpack, get it out of it, resume it, connect the sensor using the USB and start the Python3 script (while keeping the lighttpd server running during suspends).
taking the laptop outside

At some point, I realized that I have a quite powerful and much smaller portable computer with me at all times - Android mobile phone. Fortunately, a few months ago I bought OTG cable for my phone.

I found a Serial USB Terminal for an Android phone, installed it and connected the SDS011 sensor to my phone. An application was started automatically and after I started a connection I saw some garbage characters periodically appearing in the terminal output - so, I guessed my phone can read the output from a sensor :)

First tests showed this guess was correct. Initial calculations proved that data fetched from the phone represent correct measurements. Hand-made calculations were made based on the Arduino C code from the joy-it sensor manual:

...
#define LEN 9
unsigned char incomingByte = 0;
unsigned char buf[LEN];
int PM2_5Val = 0;
int PM10Val = 0;
...
if (incomingByte == 0xAA) {
  Serial.readBytes(buf, LEN);
  if ((buf[0] == 0xC0) && (buf[8] == 0xAB)) {
    for (i=1; i<=6; i++) {
      checksum = checksum + buf[i];
    }
    if (checksum != buf[7]) {
      PM2_5Val=((buf[2]<<8) + buf[1])/10;
      PM10Val=((buf[4]<<8) + buf[3])/10;
...
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Which means that for the following sequence of bytes:

hex: aa  c0  50  00  29  01  7f  bc  b5  ab
dec:         80  00  41  01 127 188 181
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

...I did the following math which shows same values I was able to measure using the above mentioned Python3 script on my laptop:

checksum (hex) = 50+00+29+01+7f+bc = 1b5 (which overflows to b5)
PM25 (dec) = (00*256 + 80) / 10 =  8.0
PM10 (dec) = (01*256 + 41) / 10 = 29.7 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After some thinking, I realized this is a good use-case for a new Android application.

"Well, maybe I am not the first one thinking about that.."

I searched for such application on the Google Play. Unfortunately - no such application existed (at least at the time of writing this post).

I searched for Android application on the Internet and I found a GitHub repo for SDS011 Android application - much better. Unfortunately, this application is not published to the Google Play so I needed to build and install it "by hand".

I built and installed this application to my phone using the Android Developers instructions. This is not for the casual phone user, it requires a download and configuration of the Android Studio. However, the end result is nice - thanks to the developers of the SD011 Android app.

SDS011 Android application

After some playing with this app, I found there are some downsides:

If I find a time, I would like to create an Android application with the following functions:

  • save/view a history of measurements
    • date-time & GPS included
    • show location for each measurement on the map
    • this way we can take a ride or walk around the town and later analyze data to see if air quality differs between different locations
  • pause/continue measurements
    • this would save the sensor laser & my phone battery
  • configure periodic measurements
    • this would save the sensor laser & my phone battery

Cover image & laptop image are created by:

Top comments (0)