DEV Community

w4ffl35
w4ffl35

Posted on

Why do I get so many followers on this platform?

I have noticed a spike in my follower count in the last 24 hours. This isn't the first time it has happened. I have gained approximately 300 followers in 24 hours.

Given that this is only my 14th post and most of the users seem to be new accounts created today, and all reactions and stats on my posts are low, I am confused by this activity.

Are the new followers bots? Is this normal to see on dev.to? What has your experience been?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
aloisseckar profile image
Alois Sečkár

I got immense number of followers right when I started posting here - practically more than actual views of my articles. I am pretty sure most of them are bots...

Collapse
 
w4ffl35 profile image
w4ffl35

I feel it must be a large number of bots, I'm nearly up to 1k followers (I was at approximately 500 or 600 followers less than 2 days ago). Most of the new followers seem to have been created in the last two days. Its very odd.

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

I see the largest follower spikes after I've posted an article that goes off. I'm not sure exactly how their algo works, but I would really love to learn!

Collapse
 
w4ffl35 profile image
w4ffl35

One interesting thing I'm noticing - the accounts that are new are following 1 to many tags.