DEV Community

WAFLIONS
WAFLIONS

Posted on • Updated on

I'm really confused about myself on computer career. Pls help!

I'm really confused about my interest because I like neither making apps nor creating websites. But I really love Computer Science β€” computer architecture, data structures and algorithms, etc...

My main question is that β€” one can learn Computer Science without having interested in software development?

Apart from software creation and website development, Is there anything else I can do in CS?
Am I missing anything?
Any recommendation or suggestion for me, please. Thanks in advance.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

Computer science is a part of mathematics. There is a lot of research available in various areas of computer science. There is even a field called Theoretical Computer Science, (where you just imagine being a javascript dev).

Have you looked into an academic career?

Apps and websites are not the only types of computer programmes. For example firmware, operating systems, and compilers. That's just three areas, but there are so many more!

Collapse
 
waflions profile image
WAFLIONS

Thank you for your answer and your time. Your valuable answer showed me the paths I have overlooked for a long time - "CS theory and academic career". Now I am going to look into those fields to see if they are suited to me. Thanks again. Really appreciate it.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Maybe you should have a coffee discussion with someone who have a much wider view of available careers that us developers have.

We tend to specialize in a niche.