DEV Community

Cover image for Finished!
JJ
JJ

Posted on

Finished!

Intro

It feels good when you finish a project doesn't it? I just LOVE to complete something I set out to do. I just completed the project I've been slowly working on over the past ten days or so and although it didn't happen as fast as I'd have liked for it to, it happened and all my ideas were implemented and I learned a LOT!!!

I actually finished a couple days ago and I've been working hard on finishing my last two weeks of classes at OSU-IT up a little early if I can. I'd like to get a jump start on the summer break where I can really work hard on The Odin Project!

What's Next

A project wouldn't be complete if there wasn't another one lined up. I'm about to be in the planning phase for it, and I'd be surprised if this didn't take me a few weeks to knock out. I have the time to invest so, if there is something I don't understand, I can take the time I need to stop and learn all about that, throw some code in my editor and play around with it until I understand what is going on.

The project I'm working towards is the Etch A Sketch project. I have a few ideas sparked by some of my peers in TOP that I want to implement and I want to implement at least two of my own ideas to make it my own. I have not looked at anyone's code, so this will be 100% my own, just inspired by others' designs. I am super excited to be doing this project, I think it will be a huge learning experience and will incorporate quite a few things I haven't had the opportunity to play around with. Specifically, coding flexbox using DOM manipulation. Aside from the boilerplate, my goal is to implement all HTML through JavaScript.

Closing Thoughts

I had a lot of fun with Rock Paper Scissors. It is a very simple program, but to me, it is an accomplishment. I've never completed a project that I started until now. This will be the first of many as I make my way slowly through TOP. My next project, the Etch A Sketch is underway and I have a sneak peek of my planning for it:

Etch A Sketch JS

I'm looking forward to making this one a reality! Until the next one...be good!

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Top comments (0)