DEV Community

Cover image for Quickly Edit Posts
Waylon Walker
Waylon Walker

Posted on • Originally published at waylonwalker.com

Quickly Edit Posts

Recently I automated starting new posts with a python script. Today I want to work on the next part that is editing those posts quickly.

Check out this post about setting up my posts with python 🐍

Enter Bash

For the process of editing a post I just need to open the file in vim quickly. I dont need much in the way of parsing and setting up the frontmatter. I think this is a simple job for a bash script and fzf.

  1. change to the root of my blog
  2. fuzzy find the post
  3. open it with vim
  4. change back to the directory I was in

bash function

For this, I am going to go with a bash function. This is partly due to being able to track where I was and get back. Also, the line with nvim will run fzf every time you source your ~/.alias file which is not what we want.

Let's set up the boilerplate. It's going to create a function called ep "edit post", track our current directory, create a sub-function _ep. Then call that function and cd back to where we were no matter if _ep fails or
succeeds.

boilerplate

ep () {
    _dir=$(pwd)
    _ep () {
        # open file here
    }
    _ep && cd $_dir || cd $_dir
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

check out this post for more information about writing reusable bash scripts.

FZF

Let's focus in on that _ep function here that is going to do the bulk of the work to edit the post.

cd to where I want to edit from

cd ~/git/waylonwalkerv2/
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Next I need to find all markdown pages within my posts directory. There is probably a better way to filter with the find command directly, but I am not worried about perf here and I knew how to do it without google.

find all markdown

find ~/git/waylonwalkerv2/src/pages/ | grep .md$
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Now that we can list all potential posts, sending the selected post back to neovim is as easy as piping those files into fzf inside of a command substitution that is called with neovim.

putting together the edit command

$EDITOR $(find ~/git/waylonwalkerv2/src/pages/ | grep .md$ | fzf)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Final Script

final ep function

ep () {
    _dir=$(pwd)
    _ep () {
        cd ~/git/waylonwalkerv2/
        $EDITOR $(find ~/git/waylonwalkerv2/src/pages/ | grep .md$ | fzf)
    }
    _ep && cd $_dir || cd $_dir
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)