DEV Community

Weekly Typed
Weekly Typed

Posted on • Updated on

Playing with the Amethyst Game Engine

I realized today I had never tried game development, so I figured I would stay up too late and give it a go.

Entity-Component-System is an architectural pattern used in game development.

Every object in the game is an entity, which is made up of components that contain state.

Systems create the behavior by manipulating an entity's components.

That's my understanding anyway!

In this stream, I'm learning to build a pong-like game using the game engine Amethyst (https://amethyst.rs). Pretty great docs for beginners!

Built with Rust of course. :)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
zaekof profile image
NOGIER Loïc

Yess! nice video.

I'am beginners with Rust lang, i come from Web Developement and i love code with Rust, but is hard to learn for me. But i don't give up!