DEV Community

Wilbur Powery
Wilbur Powery

Posted on • Originally published at Medium on

Be a good person

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

We sometimes focus so much on becoming better at our profession or career, that we ignore becoming a better person in the process.

Ok, so yeah, I know it’s very important to keep getting better, especially in our times. Many of us might have the mentality of “If I don’t continually learn, I’ll become obsolete”.

Let me ask you a question, Have you ever met someone who is a total master in whatever they do for a living, but they are a real pain to work with? I’m pretty sure many of us know someone who fits that description, and believe me, that is not the person you’d want to be to other people.

I’m a software developer, and believe me when I say this: I’ve met some really smart and talented people who write software, they could master any programming language you throw at them, but their ability to talk to people, have empathy, and simply be a good person to others and have a positive impact in a group is really low.

So, my advice to you is to simply focus on being a good person, someone people enjoy working with, because your technical knowledge will only get you so far, the rest will depend on the way you treat people and make them feel.

Got any thoughts on this? Have you ever experienced working with someone like this? I’d love to hear your story.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
wstocker profile image
Wendy Stocker

I believe the technical term that you're looking for is "neckbeard" ;) Joking. Seriously though, some of the most talented people I've worked with in the field, are also some of the best people I know.