DEV Community

Will Velida
Will Velida

Posted on

What's your worst on-call story?

So I've been on the on-call roster for my work for about 6 months now and it still hasn't grown on me.

The worst time I've ever had was getting 5 consecutive days of 1am call outs for complete non-issues 😭

So for a bit of fun, I'd thought I'd ask those in the DEV.to community who are go on-call what their worst stories were of being on-call, so we can all share our misery together 😂

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
hammtronic profile image
trav

I'm not on-call anymore, but when I was I'd say the two ends of the "this sucks" spectrum were 1) being woken up 5 consecutive days at 3:30am for a trivial issue that just required a 30 second phone call to resolve each night and 2) a 3 hour priority-1 call I needed to take in the middle of Thanksgiving dinner with my extended family

But to be honest I've come to miss being on-call. Those were annoying but I'm less annoyed in retrospect than I am happy to have on-call stories to share when it comes up xD

Collapse
 
willvelida profile image
Will Velida

I'm not sure I'll ever miss being on-call once I'm off the roster, but I'm grateful to be picking up on-call stories as I go along. I think it's essential for any developer to go on call, just so they know what it feels like 😂😂