DEV Community

Jesse M. Holmes
Jesse M. Holmes

Posted on

Currently I'm Thinking About Writing Currently

Good morning, friends! Here's a brief message on clear and concise communication: currently, currently is one of the most overused words in our industry currently.

Tech recruiters are especially generous with this word.

  • Currently we are seeking a developer with 31 years of Angular experience
  • We are currently located in Annapolis
  • Currently we build software at the moment

I hope you are laughing at the third example—it's my personal favorite offender.

Consider these alternatives:

  • We seek a developer with 2 years of React experience, or experience in other libraries/frameworks and an interest in learning on the go.
  • We are in Annapolis Junction (Marylanders may get this reference)
  • We build software

Often currently is a placeholder word, like um. It can be used for emphasis or to imply upcoming changes, such as, "We have no openings currently." It creates a weakness where you want to be communicating in an active voice. Did you notice the subtle, bonus difference between these two sentences?

  • Currently we are seeking a developer
  • We seek a developer

Which one is more affirming, more in command?

If you don't find this advice helpful, or if you think that I'm gatekeeping, let me know in the comments.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

Hey! I like the subtle difference that you expressed. When I first read your "idea gist" i wasn't aware if you were kidding in the first bullet point: "developer with 31 years of Angular". I read it 3 times, thinking it's my English being funny today.

I like the "we seek a developer" statement, it's less needy.

I would like even more if this: "We seek a developer with 2 years of React experience" would become this: "We seek a developer with 2 years of React experience or other libraries/frameworks or interest in learning on the go."

Because, in my opinion a developer will gain experience with x tech stuff ~mostly~ if they work in projects with them. This depends on the company, agency, clients. Some things we control, others we don't.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Hi, Gabriela!

Even as I wrote it, I had those same thoughts! My sarcastic tone doesn't always shine through. There is so much value in hiring someone with a real passion for learning, and I believe a lot of opportunity is missed when companies try to hire on such a narrow spectrum.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

Yep, I agree :)