DEV Community

Youcefi Mohammed Yassine
Youcefi Mohammed Yassine

Posted on

Im building a ecommerce using react for dashboard and flask for the storefront . Can i create a CMS with this architecture?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
anamican profile image
Madhukumaar T R

Short answer: Yes

Long Answer: It depends.

Depends on the complexity, required performance, dev effort required, budget etc....

Collapse
 
yani profile image
Youcefi Mohammed Yassine

Can you give me some sources to get ideas please ?

I'm using docker and self hosting with nginex in ovh .

Collapse
 
anamican profile image
Madhukumaar T R

What kind of sources may I ask ?

To help with setting up frontend use Netlify or Verge
For backend use Docker with Aws ECS or EKS as they offer free limited resources for 1 year and you can build the system within that timeframe

The question you are asking is too broad so could you please either narrow it down or list out all the things you are looking for and I'll add those appropriate resources

Thread Thread
 
yani profile image
Youcefi Mohammed Yassine

So im already deployed my dashboard on ovh as well as my storefront.
currently i want to add theme customization.
default users have a basic theme, then they will be able to personalise it

for the code mirroring have you some ideas ?

Thread Thread
 
anamican profile image
Madhukumaar T R

I wanna understand what you are trying to build before recommending solution's. So are you trying to build next Shopify?

Thread Thread
 
yani profile image
Youcefi Mohammed Yassine • Edited

Yes I'm building next shopify and have some problems on the cms :

  • how to pass data for real time rendering ?
  • what kind of structure can i save the data or the Skeleton of html and css?
Thread Thread
 
anamican profile image
Madhukumaar T R

Shopify has mainly 3 components:

Admin panel
CMS
Storefront

And all of these are connected through APIs

CMS enables you to build Storefront with option to edit themes and Admin panel helps to manage the data that flows through the entire app.

Basically there are two types of data at play here

  1. The data to build the Storefront like the theme related
  2. The data that is being used and manipulated by storefront i.e. customer data, orders, inventory etc...

Irrespective of the Front or Backend languages it is possible to do it. Try the below article it should give you some ideas : developers.bloomreach.com/blog/201...

People tell you to store html in database but I don't agree with that. On contrary you could store theme related data like font, logo, header size etc and generate a theme. Then use a generic theme builder to spit out html files whenever required.

Passing data for real time rendering comes from API from different database other than theme related data.

But may I ask why you are trying to solve an already solved problem ? Is it for learning or for monetisation?

Thread Thread
 
yani profile image
Youcefi Mohammed Yassine

Thanks for your answer, the insight you have given me is way more valuable than you can imagine ! I am trying to learn how Shopify operates and maybe get to build an alternative for my country (where payment methods like VISA , MasterCard .. etc are not a thing). Currently, I set up a JSON where snippets have a certain order and when I post to my flask environment with another order, the order changes. What could you recommend to modify the style with ease with a flask/jinja environment ? I will look further more on using a generic theme builder with the related data you told me about, thanks again !