DEV Community

Cover image for React, Redux and Ruby on Rails Final Project
yarvinh
yarvinh

Posted on

React, Redux and Ruby on Rails Final Project

For my final Flatiron school project, I decided to build an app related to my favorite sport, soccer. My wife and I enjoy watching soccer and before any big game, we bet among ourselves which team will be the winner. I thought that it would be a good idea to create a soccer betting app. I built the app using React, React-router, Redux and Ruby on Rails.

Features

  • Users have the ability to login, logout and sign-up for the app.

  • Users can see upcoming soccer matches without login in. They can filter matches by competition such as Premier League, La Liga or Champions League.

  • Users can see teams that participate in a competition without login in.

  • When a user signs up for the app, they get a $1000 credit to bet on games.

  • If a user is logged in, they can bet on upcoming matches.

  • Users can like upcoming matches and see a count of how many people also liked it.

What I learned

While I was building this app, I learned the most about Redux. I learned to use connected components, how to connect React with Redux and most important how everything works together. I created multiple reducers and then used combineReducers to bring them all together. I also used Thunk Middleware to dispatch async calls.

Conclusion

After a year of hard work, I'm ready to graduate from Flatiron school. After I pass my final project, I will add features that I didn't have time to include such as giving the users the ability to comment on upcoming games. I also want to learn more about authentication and security. In the future, I want to concentrate my learning on database and authentication.

Top comments (0)